Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros: “Carries On”


edward-sharpe-and-the-magnetic-zeros1A vicious case of swine flu (suspected but not confirmed) prevented me from seeing the highly acclaimed live show masters Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros at The Independent on September 15, but no pandemic can stop me from listening to their debut album, Up from Below, on repeat. As someone that generally prefers a sad, slow, soundtrack-to-a-breakup type of music, I was surprised to find myself so attached this record, but hey, even the most masochistic, misery-loving person isn’t immune to catchy sometimes.

And listening to Edward Sharpe (Alex Ebert’s stage name/alter ego) and Jade Castrinos sing to each other about their unparalleled, enduring love doesn’t even make me bitter. Except when I see pictures like this:

edward_and_jade2 edward_and_jade1

and then I feel like I will never be in a relationship like theirs, in which I could write love songs, tour around the country, and frolic in fields with my soul mate for the rest of my life, so why should I even try? Either way, the clamoring 10-piece caravan of a band’s music is undeniably infectious, and by listening I can live their mutual adoration vicariously, especially with lyrics like “Home is wherever I’m with you.” In a simple twist of irony, as I head down to LA (where the band lives and frequently performs) for a wedding this weekend, they will be coming up to San Francisco, playing at Mezzanine on Saturday night and at the Treasure Island Music Festival on Sunday. Life isn’t fair.

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Carries On

Who: Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

What: Up from Below

When: 5.21.2009

Where: Los Angeles, California

Why: “Our love carries on.”

How: Vagrant Records

up_from_below

5 Responses to “Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros: “Carries On””

  1. Aspen Says:

    I hope you’re kidding about the swine flu–yikes! I love these photos, though. They make me want to go live on a commune on some wayward abandoned farm in the midwest.

    • stella1722 Says:

      Well, Aspen – we can always add “living on some wayward abandoned farm in the midwest” to our road trip plans.

  2. Bernz Says:

    Kudos! Really enjoyable read–perhaps I can get you to do a reading of this on the bus.

  3. Beach House: “Wedding Bell” « Bands Like Girls With Bangs Says:

    […] Bands Like Girls With Bangs Blunt Observations on the Music Scene in San Francisco and Beyond « Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros: “Carries On” […]

Leave a Reply

