The Clientele: “(I Can’t Seem to) Make You Mine”


Today, like yesterday, my masochism knows no bounds. My Monday morning blues have bled into Tuesday, and all I want to do is while away the hours at my day job, looking like I’m hard at work but really writing in my blog, browsing clothes I can’t afford online, and listening to songs that make me want to kill myself. Naturally, there are reasons for this, including, but not limited to:  1) certain alcohol-induced activities I partook in this weekend that should have made me feel guilty but actually didn’t at all, 2) it’s day two back at work after four and a half solid days off, with three more to go before the weekend, and 3) the lack of snow in San Francisco around the holiday season is, as always, getting me down. So fuck Macy’s and Bing Crosby and everyone that’s freaking out about Santa’s beard being an H1N1 incubator. Let us drown our sorrows in all the eggnog and brandy we can down before the viscosity of the raw egg mixture down our throats makes us gag (if the reality of Bob Dylan’s forthcoming Christmas album didn’t make us do that already). And yes, that’s what she said. The soundtrack to this festive attempt at self-annihilation? The Clientele.

Now, I would talk about the London-based band’s new album, Bonfires on the Heath, but everyone else is already doing that, and sheep-like behavior isn’t going to make me feel any better. No, as I was browsing their tunes on MySpace, I came across this sad little gem of a song: “(I Can’t Seem to) Make You Mine.” If ever there was a more beautiful way to express the futility of unrequited love, I haven’t come across it. So go and stand under the mistletoe by yourselves, people. ‘Tis the season.

The Clientele – (I Can’t Seem to) Make You Mine

Who: The Clientele

What: Strange Geometry

When: 10.11.2005

Where: London, England

Why: “I can’t seem to make you mine / Through the long and lonely night.”

How: Merge

Leave a Reply

